• Home
  • Eight faculty members recognized for excellence in teaching

Eight faculty members recognized for excellence in teaching

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

LAWRENCE — Eight faculty members at the University of Kansas are being recognized as winners of annual distinguished teaching awards.

The eight award recipients will be honored Aug. 22 at the KU Teaching Summit.

This year’s winners are as follows:

Julia Broxholm, professor of voice, will receive the Byron T. Shutz Award. Established in 1978, the award alternates between recognizing excellent teaching in business and economics in even-numbered years and outstanding teaching in any discipline in odd-numbered years.

Lisa Wolf-Wendel, professor of higher education, will receive the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award. This award, established in 1990, recognizes outstanding teaching.

Kerry Benson, lecturer in the William Allen White School of Journalism & Mass Communications, and Brendan Mattingly, lecturer in the Undergraduate Biology Program, are the recipients of this year’s Bob & Kathie Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes nontenure track faculty.

Four faculty members at KU Medical Center will receive the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Awards, selected by a committee of Medical Center faculty and students. The recipients of these awards are Kelly Bosak, associate professor in the School of Nursing; Shelby Fishback, associate professor in the Department of Radiology; Michael Kennedy, professor in the Department of Family Medicine, and David Naylor, assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine.

The KU Teaching Summit takes place each August and is co-sponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence, Office of the Provost and KU Medical Center. The conference is designed for faculty and instructional staff from the Lawrence, Edwards and Medical Center campuses. Those interested in registering to attend may do so online or by contacting the Center for Teaching Excellence at 864-4199 or cte@ku.edu.

School of Education is 10th among public universities for its master’s and doctoral programs
—U.S. News & World Report
Professor Lisa Wolf-Wendel is president-elect of the Association for the Study of Higher Education
Alumni of the department head higher education institutions, school districts, and schools across the nation
KU Today
Connect with KU Educational Leadership & Policy Studies

KU School of Education Facebook page KU School of Education YouTube Channel KU School of Education Twitter Feed KU School of Ed instagram icon KU School of Ed LinkedIn icon