• Home
  • KU to honor faculty, academic staff retirees May 23

KU to honor faculty, academic staff retirees May 23

Thursday, May 02, 2019

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas will honor retiring faculty and academic staff members with a lunch at noon May 23 in the Kansas Union Ballroom.  Chancellor Douglas A. Girod and Interim Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor Carl Lejuez will recognize the employees during the lunch.

For more information about the luncheon, contact Debra Bia at 864-4168 or dbia@ku.edu.   


Barbara Ann Barnett, journalism, 16 years  

Ross Black, geology, 30 years

John Broholm, journalism, 35 years

William Busby, Kansas Biological Survey, 31 years

Elizabeth Byleen, Applied English Center, 33 years

Michael Crawford, anthropology, 48 years

Robert Davison, business, 3 years

Marina de Fazio, French, Francophone & Italian studies, 25 years

Frank deNoyelles, ecology & evolutionary biology, 44 years

James Ellis, curriculum & instruction, 21 years

Pamela Fine, journalism, 11 years

Iris Smith Fischer, English, 30 years

Ned Allen Ford Jr., business, 43 years

Bill Fuerst, information systems, business, 19 years

James Gentry, journalism, 22 years

Stephen Goddard, Spencer Museum of Art, 35 years

Leon Greene, health, sport & exercise science, 44 years

Martha Harris, Applied English Center, 33 years

Edwin Hecker Jr., law, 47 years

Debra Hedden, music, 16 years

David Henry, pharmacy practice, 46 years

John Hestand, Applied English Center, 9 years

Jack Hofman, anthropology, 28 years

Mary Lee Hummert, communication studies, 32 years

Shigeru Iwata, economics, 31 years

Carolyn Porto Johnson, political science, 30 years

Tim Johnson, electrical engineering & computer science, 22 years

Stephen Kapp, social welfare, 21 years

Dennis Karney, business, 35 years

Mike Kautsch, School of Law, 40 years

James Kleoppel, pharmacy practice, 39 years

Man Cheong Kong, electrical engineering & computer science, 33 years

Steven Lee, educational psychology, 32 years

Alice Lieberman, social welfare, 31 years

Thomas Lorenz, English, 33 years

Gwendolyn Macpherson, geology, 30 years

Paul Markham, curriculum & teaching, 29 years

Craig Martin, ecology & evolutionary biology, 38 years

Edward Martinko, ecology & evolutionary biology and Kansas Biological Survey, 42 years

Jim Mielke, anthropology, 42 years

Tim Miller, religious studies, 42 years

Gary Minden, electrical engineering & computer science, 38 years

Susan Palmer, Beach Center on Disability, 19 years

John Peck, law, 41 years

Chris Petr, social welfare, 31 years

Dennis Prater, law, 35 years

Kenneth Ratzlaff, Molecular Structures Group, 38 years

Michael Roberts, Clinical Child Psychology Program, 28 years

Dennis Sander, architecture/design, 39 years

Margaret Severson, social welfare, 23 years

Michael Shaw, classics, 48 years

Catherine Shenoy, business, 39 years

James Sherman, applied behavioral science, 52 years

Dan Spencer, business, 40 years

Jon Keith Swindell, visual art/design, 32 years

John Carter Tibbetts, film & media studies, 32 years

Bruce Twarog, physics & astronomy, 37 years

Max Utsler, journalism, 35 years

Douglas Whitman, business, 43 years

G. Paul Willhite, chemical & petroleum engineering, 50 years

Sheryl Williams, KU Libraries, 40 years

Lyn Wolz, KU Libraries, 24 years

Roger Woody, business, 10 years

John Younger, classics/Jewish studies, 17 years.

School of Education is 10th among public universities for its master’s and doctoral programs
—U.S. News & World Report
Professor Lisa Wolf-Wendel is president-elect of the Association for the Study of Higher Education
Alumni of the department head higher education institutions, school districts, and schools across the nation
KU Today
Connect with KU Educational Leadership & Policy Studies

KU School of Education Facebook page KU School of Education YouTube Channel KU School of Education Twitter Feed KU School of Ed instagram icon KU School of Ed LinkedIn icon